I feel the online love!

Um, okay, so a fabulous woman and author just commented on my blog and I’m giddy with delight.
The online community of stigma fighters and writers spreading awareness about BPD has grown so quickly in the past few years. I remember when I was first diagnosed, around six years ago, I came online to find out what the hell BPD was. I saw no online support whatsoever. I created a group on Myspace but barely anyone joined. Now that Myspace is obsolete, I’ve created one on Facebook. I now run this blog, a Tumblr blog, two Facebook pages, and a Meetup page for my support group that meets in person every week. I could do much more but I’m finding it hard enough to keep up with all of this as it is. There are so many options out there right now, it’s unbelievable.

I am starting to feel the validation and closeness that us BPDs yearn for so much, online. It’s not exactly the same but it sure does help. There are women like Amanda Smith of the FBPDA, Lisa Haney-Johnson (author of Girl in need of a tourniquet and queer warrior), Stephanie Price of Love is the Cure, Aj Mahari has a slew of sites and even an online radio show, Amanda Rances Wang of The Fight Within Us, Randi Kreger (author of Stop Walking on Eggshells and numerous articles), and Kiera van Gelder (author of The Buddha and the Borderline). Phew!

This community of strong, smart, beautiful women are all out there, campaigning for those of us with BPD. They deserve a special medal but they already have a special place in my heart.

One thought on “I feel the online love!

Leave a Reply

