My opinion on self-injury

when someone invalidates your scars caused by self-harm, it can be quite invalidating to your emotions that you were feeling when you decided to self-harm.

note that i have “decided” boldfaced. self-harm is a decision just as much as being a smoker, drinking alcohol, or smoking weed is a decision. you’ve decided to participate in these outlets for your negative emotions. yes, i realize they ultimately become addictions. addictions are very hard to kick. they are not impossible though.

i’m sure many of you realize this but i thought i would clarify for those who don’t know: when you cut/burn/pick/etc., you release a chemical in your brain called endorphins, or endogenous opioids. These endorphins act as your body’s natural pain killer and give you that “high” you become so addicted to.

http://opioids.com/opiates.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/colleen-perry/cutting-and-self-injury-i_b_494271.html

My therapist has put me on some amino acids called 5htp and DL-Phenylalanine to help curb my cravings for pain pills and the endorphins released when I burn. I think they’re starting to work. I’ve been on them for about a week now.

If you need help quitting, please seek professional help. Tell them the truth when you visit, tell them why it is you SI and when; be completely open with them. I want all of you to start a revolution with me: the “I don’t need to harm my body anymore because of anyone else” revolution.

One thought on “My opinion on self-injury

  1. I refer to my scars as “battle scars.” No longer a cutter myself, I decided to look back on them with pride. I survived. That way, I don’t have to feel ashamed and cover them up.

    “Pain heals, chicks dig scars, and glory lasts forever!”

    It gets better.

Leave a Reply

