The FBPDA conference was amazing!

Amanda did an amazing job! Congrats to her and the FBPDA.

It was a whirlwind day for my emotions. I was lacking in sleep and started to fade soon after lunch. There were a couple of professionals at my table who weren’t all that sensitive to the fact that there might be actual BPDs and their family in the room. They were making somewhat stigmatizing quips to each other under their breaths; quips I could hear quite clearly. I drew a butterfly on my wrist in the bathroom and did some breathing to calm down. Once they found out I was BPD though, they were suddenly interested in speaking with me and asking me questions. Funny how that works, huh?

The speakers all did an amazing job. I particularly enjoyed the eating disorder and DBT talk by Anna Traylor. I could totally see her being an amazing therapist (I know I would see her). She just had an amazing aura about her that I could totally see me getting along with. I spoke to her briefly about “Girl in need of a Tourniquet” by Merri Lisa Johnson and how if she enjoyed “The Buddha and the Borderline” by Kiera van Gelder, she most definitely needed to read it. She asked me if I had a book in me. I nervously laughed and said hopefully one day in the future.

Some of the other speakers were very informative as well. Stacy Louk explained mindfulness very eloquently and I enjoyed her breakdown of it immensely. Nancy Gordon discussed DBT for substance abuse and educated me to this branch of DBT I hadn’t even thought of before. Very informative. Aaron Norton was so full of energy and made me laugh while teaching some great adaptive coping skills for clients with BPDs.  Cristin Manzolati gave a heart warming, moving account of her diagnosis and treatment with DBT. She really gave me hope for myself as well as other BPDs. Finally, Perry Hoffman from the NEABPD gave a great account of BPD’s effects on family members. I finally got the guts to raise my hand and mention to her the current internet revolution going on right now about BPD. She gave me her card and told me to get into contact with her. (I’m super psyched)

All around, very informative, inspiring, and interesting conference. Can’t wait until the next one. I can’t wait to share with my therapist on Monday and go over my notes.

🙂

2 thoughts on “The FBPDA conference was amazing!

  1. You, my dear, are always a breath of fresh air.

    Thank you for taking the time to drive over four hours to be with us, share your heart and experience, and be a beautiful source of inspiration to others with BPD, mental health professionals, and family members. Your very presence at our conference did just that!

    I can’t wait to see you again. Until then, keep spreading the good word.

  2. Tiffany, thank you so much. It was a pleasure to meet you. Believe in yourself, you can and will conquer ANYTHING! Set goals and watch the amazingly great things happen before your eyes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

