I told her from the very beginning that I struggled with abandonment and she reassured me many times she’d never leave. lies.

7 Months. Sessions every 2 weeks. I have no say or voice in the matter. It’s non-negotiable. I sobbed and sobbed today on her couch and in my car. She tried to change the subject because she wants us to “stay on track” and keep working instead of derailing on this. I balled up my sheet of paper with my prepared notes without even showing them to her. I’m angry and hurt. I feel betrayed. I keep feeling like she’s dumping me for a new model, a less crazy and more stable model.

She doesn’t want me to hurt myself. Made me promise. Why should I promise her anything?

5 thoughts on “I told her from the very beginning that I struggled with abandonment and she reassured me many times she’d never leave. lies.

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry. )-: This really isn’t fair. You have my sympathy and I would have the same “screw you” attitude to her as well (even though that’s probably not healthy…). Take care, hope you can find a replacement somehow.

    • She’s an intern, yeah. They get mandated funding and apparently aren’t allowed to see clients long term. It’s all bullshit, if you ask me. If that was the case, she shouldn’t have continued to see me. I’ve fallen hard for her and now I’m supposed to just stop seeing her. I feel like someone’s removing a vital organ.

  2. I feel like I need everyone more than they need me. Wow. Talk about resonance. I’m so sorry you’re going through this kiddo. There’s a lot of us out here who feel JUST like that. Ain’t nothing I can say that won’t sound contrite or like one of those dumb motivational posters. If I knew you in person, I’d just sit with you quietly and we could hurt. Peace.

Leave a Reply

